As Memories Flood In!

As Memories Flood in, I wait to be carried away

As I lay still, I get carried away

Not by those four closest to me

But by the memories that fill up my mind.

As I lay there, unable to move, eyes closed and ears open

I can see myself running around my neighbours’ house

Laughter and happiness filling the entire atmosphere

Suddenly there’s a change of place and I reach some other place

I strain to recognise it, and suddenly I realize

That’s where I spent the rest of my childhood!

It’s a huge mansion, cut off from the neighbours

It fills with people and laughter sometimes every year

I can see myself eagerly waiting for my cousins to arrive

My joy is boundless when I see my litle cousin running into my arms

It repeats with my neices and nephews too

By then I am nowhere in the scene

There I lay in a hospital bed, and my bundle of joy beside me

Time flies so fast; he has grown up as tall as me!

So have the little babies, all of whom I have lovingly caressed!

I open my eyes and can see some eyes looking at me longingly

I can feel two hands holding on to mine dearly

He has always done that, I can still feel the warmth

I drift away again along with the sweet memories that flood my mind

A mix of emotions pass through my mind

 Happiness, sadness and loneliness; but never despair

Suddenly I feel proud, for not having despaired all life

For not having cribbed for things I never could enjoy

For not cursing others for what I did not get

For never wasting time over what they would think

I feel proud, of having been able to live a somewhat content life

A life which could have been different, had I changed a few decisions 

I feel happy for not having done that and to challenge myself

To push a little more to achieve whatever little I ever yearned

I look back at things I missed 

I still remember why I chose to miss them

More memories try to rush in as I am overwhelmed

I smile on the flash of light thinking that’s another phase flashing in front

But I see something more, or nothing ahead?

It’s just plain light flashing ahead

Is that how the end feels? I wonder and smile

I am happy and content, to leave everything behind

There’s not much if you ask me what all

A few sad faces would sum it up all!

And a roomful of memories left behind

I will add on to them as a memory cheerful and bright

I am a teacher turned software developer turned full time mom turned entrepreneur turned writer! I have enjoyed all these avtars in my life to the fullest. I am on my journey to explore a lot more about writing! Follow me to read more of what I write..

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Personal
2 comments on “As Memories Flood In!
  1. Preethi Chitlangi Dhoot says:

    Hi Ma’am, I would definitely want to speak to you as Im looking forward for WFM opportunity as I have 5 years of experience in MNC and started to write a blog but it’s just started

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

Follow Food For Thought – Think. Analyze. Decide. Execute. Enjoy!!! on WordPress.com
Follow me on Twitter
Blogs I Follow
