A House-full of Nostalgia

I thought I was beyond nostalgia! I thought I wouldn’t miss my old home where I was brought up. The house where my father and his siblings grew up. The house that safely keeps those memories of being full of people, sometimes 50-60 of them staying back for days together! 

I thought I was fine being away and wouldn’t miss it! I was totally wrong and i realised it just when i came back to stay here couple of days before. Every step inside the house reminded me of so many years spent there! I kept staring out of my window on my room and memories were flooding! 
I know it’s not the same anymore. It’s been 14 years since I got married and moved out. Everything changed rapidly after that! The house where so many used to come to relive their childhood, where they have their fondest of memories, which could accommodate all those who loved it, that’s where I always stayed. I did not realise that my 20 years of life memories belong here.

We have all moved on, but this place brings back so many beautiful times we have spent here. When all our cousins – first, second, third and more of them -would enjoy the company and keep playing and fighting all day through. There were no gadgets back then and TV were controlled by the elders and not the remote! In fact, the remote came much later 😊

I used to look forward to vacations or functions to meet everyone and enjoy the company. Otherwise, these audio cassettes were my best companions!

Those were times when every inch of the room would be occupied with people of all ages. I have always been a late sleepers and have ended up with just a sheet to sleep on at some corner of the house when it was fully packed with relatives! Who cared back then! Sleep was just a way to spend some time till it was morning and everyone woke up! 

We wouldn’t know where one person was in the house till we bump on them! With 2 more relatives’ houses nearby, we wouldn’t even know where the person is 😁. Yet when it was coffee, dinner or lunch time, we would have the full attendance here. 

It feels like those days once again, after 15 long years! All three houses are getting filled again. People have grown older, devices have creeped in. We need our own spaces now. Conveniences have become more important than relations! But then, everyone is coming back once again, to relive their childhood days, the good old days they long lost. 

I am a teacher turned software developer turned full time mom turned entrepreneur turned writer! I have enjoyed all these avtars in my life to the fullest. I am on my journey to explore a lot more about writing! Follow me to read more of what I write..

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Personal

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

Follow Food For Thought – Think. Analyze. Decide. Execute. Enjoy!!! on WordPress.com
Follow me on Twitter
Blogs I Follow
