Missing the Charming Christmas Days!

Image result for merry christmas and happy new year card 2013

Yes I know it’s Christmas! But they are not as charming as they used to be 20 years back! Long time, but I cherish them as much as I know my dear friend also would miss them dearly.

This generation would have hardly sent a Christmas card to their friends and relatives. It is all E greetings now! In one way we are saving paper and money, but I miss those moments of shopping in the city. It was one time of the year when we both would be allowed to step out of the home to the city without our parents! We were old enough to handle ourselves as we both would travel to the city (at different places though) to attend our classes everyday. But shopping was a totally different area and they knew we would forget everything else around us once we start chatting up!

Every year, we would plan our Christmas shopping in the city on a Saturday or Sunday. Both would start early and start chatting up right from the moment we step into the bus! The bus people were used to seeing us together as it was an everyday matter. We would walk through the city roads for hours talking non-stop and stopping in front of every stall that sold Christmas cards.

She would always settle for the small cute ones to be handed over by person and a few normal-sized cards to be posted to some relatives and friends staying away. I always had a huge list – few friends, quite a lot of cousins and relatives and a few other friends. We knew each other’s friends & relatives and could remind each other in case we missed a card for someone.

Once the cards were purchased, we would step into our favourite restaurant at those times, a fastfood one, in the heart of the city and continue our chat while we ate. Once that was over, we would probably do a little more shopping for some small gifts.

We continued this shopping even after our college days but when the E Greetings took over the scenarios, good cards were rare to get! I still have a collection of some unsent cards with me. I remember, I used to write something on my own in most of the cards I sent, especially to close friends. I probably had this thing to write but never realized it!

Wish You All Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!!!

I am a teacher turned software developer turned full time mom turned entrepreneur turned writer! I have enjoyed all these avtars in my life to the fullest. I am on my journey to explore a lot more about writing! Follow me to read more of what I write..

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Personal

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 263 other followers

Follow Food For Thought – Think. Analyze. Decide. Execute. Enjoy!!! on WordPress.com
Follow me on Twitter
Blogs I Follow
