Nutty Carrot Halwa

Along with the winter comes the season of the Red long and juicy carrots we rarely get in Kerala. I never miss a chance to buy them and make my favourite Carrot Halwa which is a typical North Indian dessert. Since I don’t get some of the ingredients, this is my own version which is simple and delightful. Do try it out..

Ingredients:

Carrots – 2 Kgs (I managed to grab that much this time 😀 )

Ghee (Yes you need this or else please don’t bother to make it) – About 3/4 cup

Sugar – 3 to 4 cups (according to your taste)

Cashews, Almonds and Kishmish – 50 gms each

Elaichi – 3 – 4 nos (whole green elaichi)

Elaichi Powder – 2 Teaspoons

Saffron – a pinch soaked in milk

Condensed Milk – 1 Tin

Milk – 1/2 Litre

Method:

Grate the carrots and keep them ready. Don’t grind, it will lose the texture.

Chop the almonds and cashews

Take a heavy bottom vessel and once it is heated, add ghee, almonds, cashews and kishmish, and elaichi. Roast them till they turn golden brown. and then add the carrots.

Saute the carrots for 5 minutes in medium flame and cook with the lid closed for another 5 minutes.

Add half litre of milk to the carrots, keep in low flame and cook with lid on. Check and stir in between. This might take half an hour in low flame.

When the carrots are soft and cooked, add the condensed milk. Mix it well, keep the lid closed and cook for another 5 to 10 minutes in low flame.

At this stage, the north Indians would add Khoya which is unsweetened milk solid which we don’t get to buy in Kerala as easily. So I skipped it. 

Now check for sweetness and add sugar. When you add sugar. it will turn watery and then increase the flame and keep stirring.

As it thickens and the ghee comes out, add elaichi powder and saffron.

Keep stirring continuously till the entire mixture thickens to this consistency:

wp-1481132769753.jpg

Best combination – Warm Carrot Halwa with a scoop of Vanilla Ice Cream! 

I am a teacher turned software developer turned full time mom turned entrepreneur turned writer! I have enjoyed all these avtars in my life to the fullest. I am on my journey to explore a lot more about writing! Follow me to read more of what I write..

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Relishing Recipes

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

Follow Food For Thought – Think. Analyze. Decide. Execute. Enjoy!!! on WordPress.com
Follow me on Twitter
Blogs I Follow
