The lazy life of a Work From Home mom!

Being a work-from-home mom, people think, there’s a lot of flexibility it offers. Yes I get to be home when my son is back from school but there are bigger challenges!!! I have to be ready with the work at home and from home. I am working all the time! Here’s a normal day in my life..

Every day starts with a lazy mood. I will be too tired to wake up and too lazy too! I was never an early morning person, even now I hate it! But I religiously keep 2 alarms everyday, snooze the first one and catch some more sleep before the 2nd one reminds me that I am already running late (It’s 6.15 already!!!) for the day ๐Ÿ˜€

I rush into the kitchen after my morning basics and there begins the battle against time. I guess even for the most organized mom, it remains a battle against the clock to pack the kids’ break and lunch box and send them off to the school! I am no different. Add to that I am never planned. More than often, I decide the day’s menu just as I get up most of the days!!! So I always have to start from the scratch but manage to make the breakfast and lunch for my only son (and there you are packing 2 different lunches for both the kids right!!!) I work from home, so once he’s off to school, I am free (only for a few minutes!!!) Sometimes, I steal a small nap again so that I can start my day fresh and continue in full swing till late night.

Mostly, by the time my son is off to school, our lunch isย made and I only have to make the breakfast for 3 of us. So by 8 am I start my work (you see I work from home!!!) I sort of get glued to my seat once I start writing and my poor husband has to literally beg first and then warn me before I would get up and get our breakfast! I am lazy you see!

Then starts the next race against the clock. All I know is it’s past lunch time when my mom starts her ritual of advising me and then my husband starts. I am so used to it that I consider that as my lunch time alarm ๐Ÿ˜€ And then I steal about 20 minutes of time away from my first love (that’s my computer) to have my lunch with my second love (that’s my husband). Luckily he hasn’t either grown envious of my first love or has outgrown that envy!!!

The next alarm rings when my son comes back from school. He’s so hungry and I am alarmed at what to make and give him within the next 10 minutes. I work from home you see and I really do work!!! By this time I would normally have churned out 4000 words of content or more for various clients on a normal day. And would be inching somehow to complete my next work by 5 – 5.30.

I wake up from the trance (of writing of course) as soon as he reaches home and then wait till my mom decides whether or not to respond ๐Ÿ˜€ If she does, I just continue or else, I get up stretch myself a little and negotiate with my son on what’s available or quick to make! Then within a few minutes I get back to completing my assignments that continue uninterrupted until it’s coffee time. ๐Ÿ™‚ Another short break and I am lost again in my world of wordsย until it is either time to make dinner or time to have it.

Though I love cooking, when I have some really serious work to complete and deadlines to meet I hate it!!!

And then the time is all mine. I am up until my eyes refuse to read what I write. The moment I realize I took a short nap in front of my first love, I kiss goodnight and sleep off. And what’s the time now? Hey it’s the next day already!!! In fact, there’s hardly a few hours left for my alarm to start ringing!

May be I am a workaholic. I don’t mind that. It keeps me busy, learning all the time. And then at times when I get some extra time (out of the same 24 hours) I sit down to share it too..

If you ask me what else I do, I am at a loss! What else?!! I write, write, and write a little more.. I love that and I just do that. Being a freelancer working from home, life gets flexible.. Really?!! I work because I love what I do, and not because of any pressure from a Boss!

I am a teacher turned software developer turned full time mom turned entrepreneur turned writer! I have enjoyed all these avtars in my life to the fullest. I am on my journey to explore a lot more about writing! Follow me to read more of what I write..

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Personal, Professional
8 comments on “The lazy life of a Work From Home mom!
  1. Vinoo says:

    Nice one ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Mansi Babbar says:

    I relate a lot to your schedule…splly the snooze part and a quick nap after sending kids to school ๐Ÿ˜‰ ..The only difference is i have two kids.

    Like

  3. nilimagoyal says:

    Amazing write-up Geetha… I could feel as if it was even my day When I started working as a Freelance HR & an Art Trainer. Very well written.

    Like

  4. What to say….cent per cent true… here am struggling with two… not only for cooking breaks.. but even for their toilet breaks, which are almsotโ€‹ every half an hour when am seriously doing some work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

Follow Food For Thought – Think. Analyze. Decide. Execute. Enjoy!!! on WordPress.com
Follow me on Twitter
Blogs I Follow
