Conquer your Fears! Don’t let it conquer you.

Fear is like a termite, eating your brain. If you do not overpower it fast, it will overpower you faster. I constantly challenge myself to try something I am quite fearful of. I know that I have to consciously fight my way out of my fears. I want to break away from whatever is restraining me. I am happy that I am actually taking small yet consistent steps to overcome my few fears. I guess trust plays an important role in combating fears!

I did manage to explore darkness while we were travelling in Hyderabad! One uncle suggested that we visit the place and we did. It made a huge difference to my son’s fear of darkness. He was 9 then and was very scared of closed spaces and darkness, especially in an unfamiliar place. I tagged along my mother and son to explore this new world and it was the most worthy experience we had in Hyderabad.

I am yet to conquer my biggest fear – Height! That’s funny, considering that I am quite tall myself. But no, it is the fear of falling from a height that constantly disturbs me, especially when I see a picture taken from a height or see someone walking treacherously at a height!  I am definitely working on this one.. though taking baby steps.

And I managed to explore heights and adventures recently at an amusement park. All the rides had an element of height and many had a falling effect too! Although I was tensed, not scared, I experienced and enjoyed the rides to the fullest. The most interesting one was where the seat flipped upside down as it rotated and revolved! For one moment I was scared that I would fall, but then, I realized I would not survive it and that moment the fear run away. After that moment, I saw the world upside down rotating and revolving! I am happy I did explore it and did not shy away scared. Then there was the huge swing! This time I was more prepared. And it helped too! Even though I could feel butterflies in my stomach, I managed through the ride with a smile.

And then, I fear some people. I feel some people are more poisonous that any chemical, animal or weapons! It is not a general fear. I fear those who are potentially poisonous. I guess I need to find a way to fight this fear more than anything else. There are many such people we encounter everyday and we need to make sure that they are contained, well-before they spread it out to the world. You know that they are poisonous, but what about those unaware?  I need to find a way to handle this one!!!!

I am a teacher turned software developer turned full time mom turned entrepreneur turned writer! I have enjoyed all these avtars in my life to the fullest. I am on my journey to explore a lot more about writing! Follow me to read more of what I write..

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Personal
2 comments on “Conquer your Fears! Don’t let it conquer you.
  1. Actually i forgot to add! I am quite scared of Weighing machines too!!!!

    Like

  2. Even am scared of height, hope one day i will overcome too. Darkness is now the best place to be lost in thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

Follow Food For Thought – Think. Analyze. Decide. Execute. Enjoy!!! on WordPress.com
Follow me on Twitter
Blogs I Follow
